Rice University Logo
Rice University Logo
Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

Schedule

Fall 2017/Spring 2018

The schedule below consists of the content modules, leadership coaching sessions, practicum meetings and deadlines for completion of the practicum paper and presentation. The classes meet from August 2017 to May 2018 on select Fridays and Saturdays (lunch provided).

Practicum: Participants will work on their practicums from January to May 2018, and each participant will submit a paper and give a one-hour presentation to both the organization and a project evaluator assigned by the Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership. All presentations and papers must be completed by May 11, 2018.

View project titles from previous LINE programs. 

Electives: Participants must also complete two electives during fall 2017 and/or spring 2018 semesters. If more time is needed to complete the electives, please contact the LINE program’s associate director at 713-348-2979. Certificates will not be issued until all requirements are successfully completed.

Note: With approval from the associate program director, past participation in any of the listed electives within one year of entering the program may fulfill one or both of the elective requirements.

Attendance Policy: Since attendance is one of the key requirements to earn the Certificate in Nonprofit Leadership, participants are required to attend all scheduled core sessions and practicum meetings. Total absences for the entire length of the program may not exceed ten (10) hours, no more than six (6) of which may be from a single weekend (consecutive Friday/Saturday). If necessary, you will be required to retake (limit of one) the session in which absences exceed the policy limit and will be charged a fee for the retake.

2017-2018 Schedule of Content Modules and Practicum 

The schedule does not include the two required electives.

Orientation for Transition Participants Friday, August 18 10 a.m.-noon
Effective Nonprofit Leadership Pt. 1 Friday, August 18 1-5 p.m.
  Reception: Friday, August 18 5-6 p.m.
Successful Nonprofit Organizations and Board Governance Friday, August 25 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, August 26 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Development Planning and Donor Engagement Friday, September 8 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, September 9 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Marketing and Public Relations Friday, September 15 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, September 16 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Financial Management Friday, October 6 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 7 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Current Legal and Ethical Considerations in Nonprofit Management Friday, October 20 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 21 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Essentials of Talent Management Friday, November 10 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 11 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Organizational Effectiveness Friday, December 1 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, December 2 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Leadership Coaching Sessions (two hours per student)   Schedule TBD with coach
Practicum Kick-off Session (mandatory attendance) Friday, January 5 1-5 p.m.
(Practicum Summaries due January 5    
Effective Nonprofit Leadership Pt. 2 Saturday, January 6 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Lessons in Leadership Friday, January 19 1-5 p.m.
Saturday,January 20 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Practicum Meeting with instructor (practicum log due) Saturday, February 24 9-11 a.m.
Practicum Meeting with instructor (practicum log due) Saturday, March 24 9-11 a.m.
Final practicum log due to instructor (no class) Saturday, April 21  
Final deadline for completion of practicum presentations Friday, May 11  
LINE Certificate Ceremony Thursday, May 24 6:30-7:30 p.m.

*All dates are subject to change. 

**Please note that the two electives required to complete the LINE program are not included in this schedule. 

 

Fall 2016/Spring 2017

The schedule below consists of the content modules, leadership coaching sessions, practicum meetings and deadlines for completion of the practicum paper and presentation. The classes meet from August 2016 to May 2017 on select Fridays and Saturdays (lunch provided).

Practicum: Participants will work on their practicums from January to May 2017, and each participant will submit a paper and give a one-hour presentation to both the organization and a project evaluator assigned by the Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership. All presentations and papers must be completed by May 12, 2017.

View project titles from previous LINE programs. 

Electives: Participants must also complete two electives during fall 2016 and/or spring 2017 semesters. If more time is needed to complete the electives, please contact the LINE program’s associate director at 713-348-2979. Certificates will not be issued until all requirements are successfully completed.

Note: With approval from the associate program director, past participation in any of the listed electives within one year of entering the program may fulfill one or both of the elective requirements.

Attendance Policy: Since attendance is one of the key requirements to earn the Certificate in Nonprofit Leadership, participants are required to attend all scheduled core sessions and practicum meetings. Total absences for the entire length of the program may not exceed ten (10) hours, no more than six (6) of which may be from a single weekend (consecutive Friday/Saturday). If necessary, you will be required to retake (limit of one) the session in which absences exceed the policy limit and will be charged a fee for the retake.

2016-2017 Schedule of Content Modules and Practicum The schedule does not include the two required electives.

Orientation for Transition Participants Friday, August 26 10 a.m.-noon
Effective Nonprofit Leadership Pt. 1 Friday, August 26 1-5 p.m.
  Reception: Friday, August 26 5-6 p.m.
Successful Nonprofit Organizations and Board Governance Friday, September 16 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, September 17 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Marketing and Public Relations Friday, September 30 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 1 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Development Planning & Donor Engagement Friday, October 14 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 15 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Financial Management Friday, October 28 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, October 29 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Organizational Effectiveness Friday, November 11 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, November 12 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Essentials of Talent Management Friday, December 2 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, December 3 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Leadership Coaching Sessions (two hours per student)   Schedule TBD with coach
Practicum Kick-off Session (mandatory attendance) Friday, January 6 1-5 p.m.
(Practicum Summaries due February 3)    
Effective Nonprofit Leadership Pt. 2 Saturday, January 7 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Current Legal and Ethical Considerations in Nonprofit Management Friday, January 20 1-5 p.m.
Saturday, January 21 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Lessons in Leadership Friday, February 3 1-5 p.m.
Saturday,February 4 8:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Practicum Meeting with instructor (practicum log due) Saturday, February 25 9-11 a.m.
Practicum Meeting with instructor (practicum log due) Saturday, March 25 9-11 a.m.
Final practicum log due to instructor (no class) Saturday, April 22  
Final deadline for completion of practicum presentations Friday, May 12  
LINE Certificate Ceremony Thursday, May 25 6:30-7:30 p.m.

*All dates are subject to change. 

**Please note that the two electives required to complete the LINE program are not included in this schedule.